Offense and Crash Reports

The Records Division maintains Offense Reports and Florida Traffic Crash Reports generated by the DeSoto County Sheriff's Office.  Requests are processed in the order they are received and released per Florida State Statute 119.00.  If the request is voluminous in nature and /or requires extensive research time to prepare, a deposit may be required.  Fee is $0.15 per page, $0.20 per double sided page. 

Hours of Operation: 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. Monday through Friday, Closed on Legal Holidays

Crash Reports: 
If within the first sixty (60) days of occurrence, the requestor MUST provide:

Photo identification and a Completed Sworn Statement for Traffic Crash Information
Section 316.066, Florida Statutes, "Written reports of crashes", governs the completion and subsequent distribution of traffic crash reports. Traffic crash reports are exempt from public disclosure for 60 days after the date the report is filed, except for parties involved in the crash and other specific parties outlined in the statute. This statute also provides criminal penalties (third degree felony) for the unlawful disclosure of confidential personal information and for unlawfully obtaining or attempting to obtain confidential personal information.

You Can Request the report online at the State of Florida's approved vendor,

Vehicle Identification Number Verification can be performed at the Sheriff’s Office during normal business hours. The fee is $4.00 per vehicle. If the vehicle is not able to be driven to Sheriff’s Office a deputy will be sent to where the vehicle is located to perform the check. The vehicle must be in DeSoto County and the $4.00 must be pre-paid in person at the Records Office.

Motorists citated under Florida State Statute 316.610 for faulty or unsafe equipment, may come to the Sheriff's Office with their citation for inspection under Florida State Statute 316.6105 Violations involving operation of motor vehicle in unsafe condition or without required equipment; procedure for disposition.